All That Remains…

At 12:22 today, I finished the first draft of my new book. It is 18,463 words, 105 printed pages, and is tentatively titled All That Remains: a Newtonberg Story.

The book has undergone many changes since I first announced it. While it is still one continuous story, the setting has been changed from the 1960s to just after World War II, and concerns one of the Newtonberg residents when she was a young girl.  You will see a few of your favorite characters from Welcome to Newtonberg in the bookend story, but for the most part, this is historical.

What’s more, it’s a total rewrite of the first Newtonberg story ever, previously titled “A Tear For Billy.” And by total, I mean totally unrecognizable. Anyone unfortunate enough to have suffered through that one in its original form (I apologize, again) might recognize a name or two, but there are actual characters this time around.

I’m quite happy with it, although I know that will fade when I go to do the first edit in a few weeks.  But for now, I will happily let it rest until Memorial Day weekend, when I will take out a printed copy and attack it with red ink.

Thanks to all who have kept me going with their encouraging words.  I hope to have it available for everyone to enjoy this fall.

Now onto the technical stuff.  I need a book cover!

3 Comments

Filed under All That Remains, Notes from the Author

3 responses to “All That Remains…

  1. Three things…

    1. I am so proud of you & feel so honored to be on this ride with you.

    2. I cannot wait until I get to read the new story!!!!!!

    3. I loved A TEAR FOR BILLY. Don’t be dissing it. 🙂

  2. What! You have already written a book before Newtonberg and now another? AWESOME! I’m not just saying that either. You have no idea how hard it is for me to read beyond the first chapter of most books; I have very little patience and am very picky with what I read. Not only did I read and finish it, but I also loved it! 😀

  3. Thank you both! I’m so glad you enjoyed the first book, and words can’t express how much your support means to me..

    Rhonda, “A Tear for Billy” was a short story originally, and no matter what Cheri says, it wasn’t very good. It couldn’t decide if it wanted to be a mystery, a love story, or just a nostalgic memory so it failed on all three counts.

    Re-written as ALL THAT REMAINS, I took some of the basic characters and a little of the story, but this time I had a definite storyline in mind. I think (I hope) that I succeeded in telling it.

    Still, it’s only a first draft at this point. I’ll know more how I feel about it in a few weeks when I do the first edit.

Leave a Reply

